Life, Football, Technology and Vespas…

Huawei EC226 EVDO on a Mac

images

This is not really rocket science, but I thought I would put this up here for my future benefit as well as anyone that happens to stumble upon this site looking how to set up their EVDO connection.

As I understand it EVDO or EV-DO is the CDMA equivalent of HSDPA (3G) of the GSM networks. Here in Lagos where I am using it, it flies. Connection speeds of up to 3.1Mb/s and decent coverage means that I am never bored when I am stuck in the traffic going to Lekki for 2.5 hours!

Anyway here’s how you set it up:

The first thing that will happen when you are in network preferences and you plug the device in is that it will pick up the new network interface. Mine was named HUAWEI Mobile. You may also notice that when you plug it in it tries to mount a drive but fails. Don’t worry about that – just ignore it. The device has a small flash drive that stores the windows drivers.

Select the HUAWEI Mobile interface on the left and then click on advanced at the bottom right. On the modem tab select Generic Vendor and Dialup Device as the model. Click OK to return to the network preferences.

You should see a telephone number box – here you must put in #777 This seems to be the generic number to get connected. If you require a username and password then fill in the blanks.

Thats it. So easy. Now to connect go to the menu bar and you should see a little telephone icon – click and select “Connect HUAWEI Mobile”. 5 seconds later you should have high speed mobile access.

UPDATE for Snow Leopard

 

33 responses

  1. Adetayo Tunde

    Does the Huawei EC226 EVDO Model work on Linux..Fedora 10 to b precise.. Cos I tried using it on my linux and it didnt work.
    Please help
    Thank U

    July 15, 2009 at 5:44 pm

  2. bonoboslr

    Yes it does work on Linux. Support for the device is built into the latest linux kernels and will work on F10.

    Plug the device in and from a terminal, run dmesg. You will see the following line:

    usb 6-1: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB0

    That indicates that the modem is recognized and is useable by the kernel. Next thing is to start kppp.

    click configure and then on the modems tab, click new. Type in a name (in this case it is Huawei ec226 and from the modem device drop down menu, select /dev/ttyUSB0. It is important that you DO NOT select /dev/usb/ttyUSB0.
    Click the accounts tab and click new. Select manual setup when prompted.

    Give the name any name you like and click add for the phone number – here you will put #777. Click OK and thats it.

    You should return to the kppp window which will ask you for your login and password. If you need to authenticate, then fill in the blanks and click connect!

    Ta-da!

    July 15, 2009 at 7:54 pm

  3. akins

    Went to the Multilinks store after i read your comment.We went through the steps one by one but no joy.I have the new Mac book pro. i have used the hauwei device on mtn before so i have the hauwei device on my mac…. The IT guys at multilinks don”t have a clue. It just starts to connect then disconnects.Please help dont want to go back to mtn its extremely eratic

    September 14, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    • bonoboslr

      Did you get the email that I sent you? Bring it round and I will configure it for you.

      September 26, 2009 at 9:55 am

  4. nabil Robiati

    i have a mac and have updated my software from OSX to Snow Leopard and i have the HUAWEI EVDEO EC226 modem which doesnt work anymore on snow leopard….any ideas where i can get the drivers? i have been looking around for 2 weeks!!!!! any help is VERY MUCH appreciated

    November 16, 2009 at 9:36 am

    • bonoboslr

      I found this link on the Huawei website the other week – http://www.huaweidevice.com/resource/mini/200910149695/testmobile1014/index.html
      It was a little confusing at first how to install, but I figured out you need to plug in the modem, run the installer – when it asks for the application to install, you need to point it to the application that is on the modem.

      Then it works a charm!

      November 16, 2009 at 12:57 pm

  5. taoheed

    modem does not work on snow leopard ie mac os 10.6. Any help?

    January 27, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    • bonoboslr

      The modem does work on snow leopard as i am using it on two macs and I have set it up on another 4. Read my instructions on this blog post:

      http://bonoboslr.wordpress.com/2009/11/16/huawei-ec226-snow-leopard/

      January 28, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  6. exiled

    * I’m sorry if this appears too many times on your dashboard. I’m using an extremely bad connection so things don’t always go through.

    Hi. I’m having the exact same problem as atkins. I tried the suggestions you’ve posted, and I also tried the software that comes when you mount the device. None of them are working and the multilinks people aren’t of any help. I’m using a macbook – leopard 10.5.8. Do you have any suggestions? It works perfectly on my windows laptop (with vista) but the macbook just can’t seem to connect.
    I just don’t know what more I can do and I’m desperate to use the device with my macbook. As far as I see, there’s no password or username needed and windows certainly doesn’t ask for one. I hope you’re able to help. I’ll be so grateful if you provided any guidance here on this post or email. Thanks!

    February 21, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    • bonoboslr

      Are you sure you have put in your username & password? Your username should be something along the lines of number @ realm – ie : 7029920202@blue900.com or @bluebroadband.com and your pass if it has not been changed is 1234.

      February 22, 2010 at 10:42 am

  7. exiled

    Hi. I just wanted to let you know that it works now. I had given up and came back here today to try what you suggested and it worked!
    Thanks!

    March 15, 2010 at 6:36 pm

  8. Sharki

    Hi everybody!
    Huawei ec226 on a mbp leopard 10.5.8. Provider: orange Equatorial Guinea.
    I do connect with and the time on the modem starts counting but no traffic at all happens (neither uploading nor downloading) meanwhile the connection is going ahead…! Tried to check with firefox, safari and even transmission… no way!
    Do I need to “play” with dns, ppp, proxies and all this complicated parametters?
    Any helpful comments on this please?
    Thnks a lot and have a nice day

    May 4, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  9. Hi, I want to let you that you just solve a problem that bother me through your reply I saw on your informative blog on how to configure huawei ec226 evdo modem. I have just bookmark your blog for onward visiting. Pls can you send me etisalat generic dial number to connect on my desktop. I will appreciate.

    May 27, 2010 at 10:22 pm

  10. Roi.kris

    ok so every time i try to connect the device all i get is the following message:
    “the disk you inserted was not readable by this computer” with the possibilities either to Ignore or to Eject, f i ignore the message disappears and nothing else happens, if i press Eject the message reappears. what should i do???
    ive tried downloading TOOL-DashboardInstaller V100R001B003.zip
    but because i dont see the installer, i cant find the installation file.

    thanks for your help..

    July 28, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    • bonoboslr

      You have an older model with the old firmware. Newer firmware allows you to mount the USB storage inside the device and install the application.

      July 28, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    • bonoboslr

      http://bonoboslr.wordpress.com/2009/11/16/huawei-ec226-snow-leopard/

      July 28, 2010 at 5:21 pm

  11. Roi.kris

    i did what that page says and now i have those 3 ports, but when i connect the usb modem, i get the same error message from my mac, and i am still unable to open the application and install it.
    im downloading the 3rd link right now.

    July 29, 2010 at 12:20 am

  12. Roi.kris

    so i downloaded the 3rd link that had the software inside. now what happens is everytime i plug the modem, the computer gives me the same message though the mobile partner software identifies the connection (it writes cdma on bottom left screen) and ive configured the connection, i still cant connect. i get a message saying “no phone service detected. check your phone line and try reconnecting” (while that happens the cdma on bottom left disappears). any suggestions?

    July 29, 2010 at 11:27 am

    • bonoboslr

      You will always get the message because MacOS X cannot mount the filesystem of the internal flash drive – you just have to ignore it. Just out of interested – where are you / what network are you connecting to? The problem sounds now that you have an issue actually accessing the network even before you try to dial in and connect.

      July 29, 2010 at 1:47 pm

  13. Roi.kris

    im in equatorial guinea, central africa, and im trying to connect to the cellular network here called Getesa. i know the connection itself works on other computers with the exact same settings, its not the user name or the password. and it looks like the device keeps connecting and disconnecting from the mac because of the bottom left corner “CDMA” or “Hybrid” keeps appearing and disappearing.

    July 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    • bonoboslr

      Ah ok – you may have to change the mode to hybrid in the configuration settings of the application. This will allow the modem to change from EVDO to CDMA. It could be that your modem is on EVDO, yet you only have CDMA signal – therefore no carrier detected message.

      July 29, 2010 at 2:13 pm

  14. Roi.kris

    i just wanted to say it was resolved eventually when i downloaded the program from the adress you gave, it just there was no signal where i tried it first.
    thanks a lot!

    August 1, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  15. Mukky

    Thank you so much bonoboslr for those wonderful tips on how to get EC226 work on Macbook Pro running the snow leopard OS. I just bought my Macbook pro and wanted to get my Huawei EC226 modem from Multilinks to work with it. But unfortunately none of the “IT” guys in the Abuja branch of Multilinks has a clue as to how to make it work. To make it easier, below is the error message I get any time I run the application on my Mac.
    “Multilinks Telkom quit unexpectedly”
    Problem details and system configuration
    I tried opening the link to the huaweidevice.com, but i kept receiving another error message saying “internal server error” Pls help and thanks in advance.

    August 17, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    • bonoboslr

      Ok – try this. When you plug in the EVDO modem, you will see a ‘CD’ or disc on the desktop, called Mobile Partner. Double click that and you will see the multi-links icon. Now here is the trick.
      RIGHT mouse click the icon and select ‘show package contents’ – It opens a new directory called contents.
      Go into that directory -> Then into Resources ->
      You will then see a package called Mobile_Connect_Drv_App.pkg.
      Double click it and run through the installer. Close the finder window when finished.

      Once installed, if you do not already have the multilinks application in your applications folder, then open up the Mobile Partner disc on the desktop again and then drag the mulitlinks icon into your applications folder.

      Double click and it should work.

      August 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm

  16. Mukky

    OMG. It worked! Thank you a zillion times. I can now sit back and enjoy my super fast internet connectivity on my MacBook Pro. I can also see that we have a new and a beautiful theme for your blog site.
    Since you said you work for Multilinks, may I suggest that you organize a training for all the IT staff from different branches of Multilinks on how to solve this same problem for their MacBook owning customers. It will help in reducing the problems associated with customers buying modems and returning them later because of incompatibility issues.
    Thanks once again.

    August 18, 2010 at 9:21 am

    • bonoboslr

      Pleasure – glad that you came right in the end.
      I will inform the necessary people to try and adopt more support for Mac.

      August 19, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    • Fixing

      pls can u inbox me the contact (the Multilink Guy)in my email at desynetics@yahoo.com so that i can get this thing done ASAP.thank you

      February 6, 2011 at 12:13 am

      • bonoboslr

        Did you read the whole article? I added a link to what must be done to get the device working with snow leopard.

        February 6, 2011 at 2:13 pm

  17. Mukky

    Hi,
    Just noticed an interesting issue with two different modems on my MacBook. Initially I had this EC 266 installed and working perfectly OK. I then wanted to use an MTN modem (Its also a Huawei product model E156G on the same Mac. When I installed the MTN modem, it worked perfectly OK. But when I decided to use the Multilinks Modem again, it kept giving a network error msg requesting for a password. I typed in the password, but it kept displaying another error msg. I had to uninstall both and reinstall the EC266 first. After installation, voila! it worked. But when I inserted the MTN modem this time around, It displayed similar error msg as was displayed by the EC266 earlier. I presume there must be some software issues. Can you help please. Or are they not designed to work simultaneously on the same Mac?
    Thanks

    September 17, 2010 at 7:27 pm

  18. Hi.
    here in Venezuela, I had a Kyocera KPC650 card on a titanium and then powerbook G4, but now with a macbook pro as there is no PCMIA slot, I needed a USB modem. The only evdo model available here is the EC266. I have been told in the Movilnet shop that it was plug and play but it was not. I have system 10.6.4 and after the disk not recognizable error message, nothing happened. In the accompanying CD there was a Mobile connect app for macOs but impossible to install, later I saw the small print: for 10.4 or 10.5 or below…. Fortunately I found your blog and downloaded the dashboardinstaller from the Huaiway site and when prompted for the software to download I pointed to that application on the accompanying CD (in any case it was the only one available) and it installed that time and modem is now working. Many thanks.

    October 14, 2010 at 1:55 am

  19. Ricardo Munoz

    @bonobosir:
    Hello, I am having trouble configuring the modem to work on my Mac. Can you tell me what the Neteork Settings should be for use on my MacbookPro.

    Thanks

    December 16, 2010 at 6:51 am

  20. Ceejay

    Any luck with OSX LIon?

    February 6, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    • bonoboslr

      I have asked Huawei for an update driver. I will post here as soon as I get feedback.

      February 6, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.