Life, Football, Technology and Vespas…

Healthy Living – Part1

I am a fairly active being, but over the last 8 weeks or so, it’s all gone to pot. Football injury has prevented me from any exercise whatsoever and plain laziness has meant that my eating habbits have been at rock bottom. Time to change. This week I have initiated a plan to get things back on track. I am not trying to lose weight or anything – just trying to live a bit healthier.

Exercise – Starting as of yesterday, 4km run every day with the intention of ramping that up over the next few weeks. The area that I live in has some decent routes to run so that is going to be my real big drive until I go to Lagos in May.

Diet – Seriously addressing the total imbalance in my diet. Yesterday was made up as follows:

Breakfast – Cereals, Yoghurt, Fruit & Fruit Juice.

Lunch – Noodles (low fat)

Supper – Vegetable Thai Curry

I will allow myself a couple of cookies with a coffee in the evening – but that is it. If I can keep this up then things are on the up. I made Thai Crab Cakes this evening for lunch which were tremendous. I will post the recipe after my run this evening!

Crab Cakes

This is a quick and easy recipe that is absolutely delicious. This recipe is very basic and I am sure that there can be a million improvements on it – but it is a good base.

Ingredients – ±150g Cooked rice, 1 can of crab meat, 1 small can of salmon, 2 teaspoons of thai red paste (see my earlier recipe on how to make a good paste), 100-150ml of low fat coconut milk, a good squirt of fish sauce or light soy, 1 small onion finely chopped, 1 clove of garlic (more if you like), a good teaspoon of grated ginger, 2 eggs and a good sprig of fresh coriander – chopped.

Basically you saute the onion, garlic and ginger in a little sesame oil -being careful not to burn them. When they are nice and soft, transfer to a mixing bowl. Throw in the rice, egg, coconut milk, crab meat, salmon, fish sauce, chopped coriander and paste. From here you can add what you like. I think some lime zest would work – but really its up to you.

Bring it all together. The egg should help it bind. Don’t worry if it is a bit ‘wet’ or loose. If you can leave it to chill for a least an hour, it will help all the flavours bind. What I then did was heat up the oven to a high temp ±200c and then formed little cakes on a  non stick tray and threw them in there for about 30-40 minutes, but you can also gently fry them in a little oil on a hot flat pan. When turning them, be sure to use a fast action with the spatula to get underneath them.

Like I said, there are a million variations. I used rice, but I see no reason to not use something like potatoes. The result is you have a really simple and tasty dish. They are fabulous served with a salad and a little sweet chili sauce !

Leave a Reply

