Life, Football, Technology and Vespas…

Two Good Health & Fitness Sites

I have been ramping up my mission to lose weight and improve my fitness. The football is helping, but it is not enough on it’s own. My biggest problem whenever I try to embark on a ‘diet’ is that I cannot just stop eating some of the things I like. Mostly, I enjoy cookies! I cannot go without them.

So what I have been looking for is an easy way of managing what I eat and what exercise I do. By adding up the KJs that I eat and the KJs that I burn, then I know when, and how much of things that are not so healthy I can eat, without losing track of my weight loss goals.

NutraCheck

I came across Nutracheck. The link is for the Men’s part of the site, but I am sure for new users, it will take you to the main site. The site manages and records your energy intakes, requirements and expenditures. For example, based on my weight and height, if I am moderately active, then I need 3000 calories per day. If I want to lose a kilo per week, then I need to do two things – decrease my calorie intake or increase my calorie expenditure with exercise.

What I like about this site is that it has the ability to track what you eat and what exercise you do with what is called your ‘Food Diary’. For example, you enter into the diary that you ate 1 apple. It inserts it into your profile for the day and calculates the energy & fat values and then deducts them from the amount that you should be consuming a day. The interface is very clean and neat and has a bar on the side to show you how much is remaining for the day.

They boast to have a database of food nutritional values for over 35,000 different types of food, so there should be no reason why this cannot work for most people. For example, Single Jack Daniels + Diet Coke is 64 calories!

The exercise diary is basically the same principal as the above, except that it will keep a track of the calories that you are burning.

It is not free. Why not, I am not sure. Some adverts in here would most definitely be able to subsidise the costs I am sure. It always amazes me that to try and lead a healthy lifestyle, you have to pay through your nose. The length of time that it has taken me to find such a site indicates that there is definitely a gap in the market for somebody to provide this type of service for free.

Nike+

The second site that I am all excited about is not just a site. It is the whole integrated Nike+ offering. I purchased one of those Nike+ sensors and ipod connectors to track my running.

I have a GPS tracking device, which is also very good but there is a problem if I run on a treadmill. I cannot track it with the GPS. Using EveryTrail.com, I can track all my activity – football included.

 20090413 at EveryTrail

Everytrail.com lets you upload your GPS tracks and that was what I had planned on doing until I realised the problem of running on a treadmill. Which is likely to be my primary form of exercise in Lagos.

Nike+ (my first run) with itunes, on the other hand, works tremendously well. It is so simple to use and takes out a lot of the hassles of trying to manage your fitness. Once the device is calibrated, you tuck it in your shoe, hit new run on your ipod and then run. Once you have finished, you plug your ipod into your PC and that is it. It will automatically update your workout information on the Nike+ website. Simple.

So – my goal is to get to 85Kgs. If I can follow the goal set on Nutracheck, I should reach that weight by middle of June.

4 responses

  1. Dan

    Bonobo, My company publishes http://www.everytrail.com, so I am happy to read that we’re doing something useful for you. Are you using the Geotagging App or EveryTrail App? We also have The Bike Computer on iPhone 3G. They are the same, but provide quite different interfaces. As for calories burned, we’re planning some enhancements along those lines. I look forward to being able to tell you more about those, but we’re a few weeks away. Also, using our widget, you can post the trip map and photos onto your blog directly, rather than just the link to http://www.everytrail.com. Please let me know if I can be of any more help. Thanks, Dan AT globalmotion DOT com

    BTW, you can follow me at everytrail under the name mlvlvr

    April 16, 2009 at 6:21 pm

  2. bonoboslr

    I actually found and use everytrail through GPS visualizer. Both are excellent sites and I am not sure why more people do not use them for sports related purposes. I have a GlobalSat BT-335 gps unit that I can put in a pouch on my arm and it will track all my GPS data while I play football.

    After the game I can upload the tracks and using everytrail I can analyze my movement as well as determining the distance travelled.

    I wanted to use the widget, but I am not sure yet how I can do that with wordpress. I will see if I can get it working tonight.

    Thanks

    April 16, 2009 at 8:50 pm

  3. Dan

    Hi,

    GPS Vis is our partner. Adam Schneider, its creator, is a pioneer in the field and a great problem solver.

    Let me ask if there’s any problem using the widget with WordPress, but I don’t think so.

    Thanks,

    Dan

    April 16, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  4. Thanks for this…it says it all …and very well.

    November 5, 2009 at 4:29 pm

Leave a Reply

