Life, Football, Technology and Vespas…

RHN Satellite Spacewalk

I had the problem recently with spacewalk not correctly displaying the virtual machines and the hosts that they belong to. For example I would register a host machine – in this case, a Xen Hypervisor. The machine and all it’s details would show up, but then there would be no information about the guests under the virtualization tab.

My setup is that I am running a CentOS5.3 environment and am using spacewalk to manage updates and packages for all machines – real and virtual.

It took me quite a while to figure out what my problem was. Firstly, the host machine must have rhn-virtualization packages installed. Probably not a common mistake, but one that I made.

# rpm -qa | grep -i virtualization
rhn-virtualization-host-5.2.0-5
rhn-virtualization-common-5.2.0-5
# rpm -qa | grep -i virtualization 
rhn-virtualization-host-5.2.0-5 
rhn-virtualization-common-5.2.0-5

Once that was sorted out the other thing that I needed to make sure of was that I create 2 activiation keys in spacewalk – one for the hypervisors and one for the guests. Using the rhnreg_ks command I could then register each machine with the activation key that corresponds to the machine type that they belong to:

# rhnreg_ks --activationkey=1-14bd43a98cb9a4d25d976748f9daf01f --serverUrl=https://spacewalk.server.com/XMLRPC --force

Once that was done, I could then see the virtual machines associated with the host.

Leave a Reply

