Life, Football, Technology and Vespas…

Run for a cure

The Run for a cure race was run today in Lagos at the American school, which we participated in. An extremely well organized event, that was a lot of fun! Plenty of music and stalls with goodies! I was a late registerer, and received number 886 – so if that is indicative of how many people participated -then that is amazing!

Willem & I set off at 5am this morning to get some needed kms in before the race and by the time we arrived at the school we had clocked 18km. The thought was to pick up the tempo a bit, but not to actually RACE it!

As with all races lately, the race plan is decided at the very las minute and I set off at a much faster pace than I had anticipated. It was only 6.25km, but even after 18km, I managed to maintain my heart rate at 86%. Towards the end, there were only a few lightning quick Nigerians ahead of me and only 2 other ‘oyibos’. The idea was to not let them out of sight and catch them at the end. And that is exactly what happened!

Very pleased to have finished 6.25km in 25:08 and to have been the first Oyibo over the line!

2 responses

  1. Lena Ramsay

    HI Bonobo,
    I just came across your blog whilst googling about an apple macbook pro issue (CDMA aircard installment), when I saw that you live in Lagos. I used to live there 1978-1980 and attended AIS and on facebook we even have a special dedicated page called “AIS 1970s gang” wih photos from back then. It was so much fun reading about Lagos today (not much has changed I can tell!)
    Anyway glad to see you are enjoying this mad place-it was 2 of the best years of my life-We lived near by Bar Beach on Victoria Island and my second home was the Ikoyi Club.!Cheers from Lena (now living in Phuket -also a crazy place!same same but different)

    June 25, 2011 at 5:36 am

    • bonoboslr

      Hi Lena! thanks for the comment and I hope you came right with your CDMA card! Lagos is indeed wild, but like everywhere, it is what you make of it. we have been very fortunate to stay here for the last two years and have enjoyed it – the ups and the downs!

      July 7, 2011 at 1:23 pm

Leave a Reply

