Life, Football, Technology and Vespas…

Goodbye Telkom

Last month I received a ‘repatriation contract’ from my employer, effectively telling me to leave Nigeria and return to South Africa. The company I work for has been sold to another company and therefore Telkom’s involvement has come to an end. This brought about so many mixed feelings because we have many great friends here and have settled into life in Nigeria quite well.

Our feelings were that we wanted to remain here in Nigeria for a while longer and as luck would have it, I was offered a contract to remain here at Multilinks for at least another 6 months. Great news for us.

This new opportunity also offered my the chance to exit from Telkom, my employer for the last 7 years. I have enjoyed the exposure to technologies and the people that I have had the opportunity to work with, but the political animal that Telkom is does not suit my style of work.

So to Telkom – Thanks for everything. You have been a great employer and have given me, for the most part, a wonderful opportunity to grow and gain experience. I hope that our paths cross again sometime in the future.

Leave a Reply

